Leave a comment

Callie, Tech-Turnoff Experience

Day One of Tech-Turnoff Reflection

I realize that the more you are surrounded by technology, the more tempting it is to use it. When the computer is next to you, it is more likely you will be compelled to use it than if you were on a deserted island with no available electronics.

In order to not use electronics (with the exception of homework), I tried various ways of entertainment. I read. I straightened my room. I wrote. As hard as I tried, the temptation of the technology everywhere I looked was overwhelming.

Normally, I do use technology in my daily basis. Whether it’s going on my email, texting, or watching T.V., somehow, technology plays in.

My typical day does use a sufficient amount of technology throughout the course of it. First, it’s my phone in order to tell my parents that I have arrived safely at school. Then, we usually use computers or smart-boards to do classwork. Then, my homework also involves some computer. After that, I normally check my email or listen to music. Without all of this, it will be different. Most likely quieter. Sometimes, though, turning off technology can take away your stress and open your eyes. When I went to sleep-away camp for 7 weeks, I had no use of technology. I went to bed every night feeling calm, not stressed out like I sometimes am at home. Losing the usage of technology can also cause the feeling of being unable to socialize, as many people do that through networks such as Facebook and Twitter.

During my first day of tech-turnoff, I had to use the computer in order to complete homework. Without my email open or music playing, I got twice (or almost twice) the amount of work done than I usually do.

Turning off the usage of technology makes the world seem different. When people turn away from their smart phones and i-pads, they lift up their heads and see. They don’t see a screen with blurry words, they see nature and beauty. When you finally push electronics away, the difference is huge.

Day Two of Tech-Turnoff Reflection

Well, here I am, on the second day of our tech-turnoff. I have learned two things.
1: Staying away from electronics is hard.
2: Never give your brother your phone in order to not use it- something bad will happen to it.
When I am surrounded by electronic technology, it seems I must use it. The smooth screen, hundreds of games at my fingertips, and all the information I could ever need inside a single smartphone. If you ask a child to turn off his or her technology, they would most likely come up with an excuse for needing to use it. “You see, today is ‘keep all your technology on’ day.” Or, “Well, I would, but my teacher told me that I… uh… I had to… um… go on the computer for that… uh… program with…. the… um… thing about… um… the… thing.” The list of possible reasons could go on forever. This is because people are so constantly surrounded by technology that the idea of life without it is unbearable.
One of the hardest things for me is not using the computer. I use it very often, for homework, email, music, and so much more. I’ve basically avoided the room where our T.V. and computer are.
Next time there’s a blackout or a circumstance where I have no power, wifi, or electronic devices, I’ll appreciate the tech-turnoff because I will have experienced a previous situation like this.

Day Three of Tech-Turnoff Reflection

As the turnoff continues, I find it harder to keep off of electronics. I realize now, how when nobody had cell phones, life was harder. If you were running late, you could only hope the person you were meeting would understand; now, with a few words and a push of a button, they’ll know that you’re stuck on the subway.

Stressful. That’s what it’s like when you have no technology. It can put you in a bad mood and make you argue over it. I’ve been in a situation where I didn’t use electronics for seven weeks. I was at sleepaway camp. Somehow, though, instead of being frustrating and annoying, it was simple and easy. It may have been because I was constantly doing some kind of activity or because I was always surrounded by friends, but I didn’t miss electronics at all.

During the tech-turnoff, I had mixed feelings about it. Annoyed. Frustrated. But somehow, I also felt at ease. Being less connected to everything doesn’t cause as many worries. You don’t think “Oh No! What if _____ said _____ about me?” Or other things. You should live in the moment, then and there, which is how it should be.

Day Four of Tech-Turnoff Reflection

I’ve made it to Friday. I have struggled, but it was kind of cool to actually see what was around me that didn’t have anything to do with technology. I’ll admit, I did use my phone and checked Engrade for homework, but besides that, I haven’t used anything.

These past days, I’ve learned how hard it is to stay away from electronic technology. When you’re constantly surrounded by smartphones, Ipads, Ipods, various video games, T.V.s, computers, and so much more, it becomes almost impossible not to turn on the T.V. or check your email.
I felt really frustrated with not being able to use any electronics. It drives me crazy. Normally, while doing homework, I check my phone or listen to music. This week, I’ve restrained from doing so even though it was tough. It turns out that when I’m not being distracted, I get a lot more work done.

Day Five Tech-Turnoff Reflection

Six days without technology. It doesn’t seem very long, right? But to me, it felt like eternity. Before the tech-turnoff, I would’ve said I could go months without tech. Now, I can barely go seven days.

Who would have guessed that going without technology would be so difficult. I wouldn’t have, that’s for sure.

I wonder “what did people do before phones and computers and such?” Well, it’s really simple. They read. And wrote. And played outside.

Speaking of playing outside, technology is part of the cause of obesity. People just sit in front of the screen, snacking for hours straight. They don’t move. And slowly, because of the lack of exercise, they increase in size.

The tech-turnoff is a good thing to try. It shows you that not everything has to do with electronics. You can have fun… without it.

Leave a Reply

