Leave a comment

Tara, My Turnoff Experience

Day 1

Today was really boring because I usually spend all my time on the computer or watching tv or using some form of technology. Now I had nothing to do because of Tech Turnoff week. Basically all I did was my homework, which would have taken a few hours normally because I’m always distracted by technology, but today it took about an hour. After that I read Pretty Monsters, which I hadn’t picked up in weeks, and it was really good. Later on in the day, during dinner, my family watched tv, and I couldn’t really avoid that because my dad would never turn off the tv when Jeopardy is on. I realized today that technology consumed most of my life, and I never really spent an hour reading before because I was so obsessed with checking my email just to see if someone was online, or checking my phone because I was bored. When I walk on the street, everyone I pass is always on their new iPhone 4 or iPhone 4s or whatever. It’s kind of sad how much our generation relies on technology. Is it really necessary to play Temple Run on your phone for 5 hours? Or check your email on your phone/computer just because you have time? I was doing this as well, and I didn’t see anything wrong with it. It’s weird because when you’re doing something, you don’t notice if it’s wrong, but once you see other people doing it, you realize that things need to change. However, no matter how much I think this, I’m still tempted to go on my computer every time I get home.

Day 2

Today was really boring because I usually spend all my time on the computer or watching tv or using some form of technology. Now I had nothing to do because of Tech Turnoff week. Basically all I did was my homework, which would have taken a few hours normally because I’m always distracted by technology, but today it took about an hour. After that I read Pretty Monsters, which I hadn’t picked up in weeks, and it was really good. Later on in the day, during dinner, my family watched tv, and I couldn’t really avoid that because my dad would never turn off the tv when Jeopardy is on. I realized today that technology consumed most of my life, and I never really spent an hour reading before because I was so obsessed with checking my email just to see if someone was online, or checking my phone because I was bored. When I walk on the street, everyone I pass is always on their new iPhone 4 or iPhone 4s or whatever. It’s kind of sad how much our generation relies on technology. Is it really necessary to play Temple Run on your phone for 5 hours? Or check your email on your phone/computer just because you have time? I was doing this as well, and I didn’t see anything wrong with it. It’s weird because when you’re doing something, you don’t notice if it’s wrong, but once you see other people doing it, you realize that things need to change. However, no matter how much I think this, I’m still tempted to go on my computer every time I get home.

Day 3

Today I only had math homework to do, so I didn’t go on the computer. I wanted to surf the channels on my tv to see if a Heat/Celtics or Thunder/Spurs game was on, but I remembered that I couldn’t. The fact that I can’t watch basketball is hard especially now because it’s the finals, and my bet’s on Miami and OKC fighting for the win in the end. The Celtics are my favorite team in the NBA, though. The computer situation is also hard for me because I’m obsessed with my email. Sometimes I just stare at my email waiting for something to happen or someone to come online. I’ve realized today that this isn’t too hard, though, because I’m kind of getting used to this tech-free week. Instead of using technology, I read stories in Pretty Monsters again, because each time you read one, you see it in a different way. There are so many more productive things you can do besides using technology.

Day 4

I spent time on the computer today completing social studies homework. I realised that it only takes me about 30 minutes to write paragraphs when I really focus. Usually it would take me hours and hours to complete one assignment that required the computer. I did check my email once or twice, with the excuse of asking a question homework-related, which was only partially true. For social studies I had to type up my bibliography, conclusion, and third paragraph, and I had to send it all to Mrs. Feick, so I used my email for that too. Today was frustrating because cracked a little by using my email, but I didn’t use it as much as I used to. When I logged onto my email, I saw a lot of new emails that I was dying to open. I saw multiple people in my grade online, too, probably chatting with each other about pointless things. I ignored a few chats from other people, but I felt bad because I didn’t want to ignore them. The fact that they were online, though, had me thinking that they must be having just as hard a time as I am with this.

Day 5

When I got home I completely forgot about Tech Turnoff week. It was a Friday and I had just hung out with my friends, so I was tired, and not thinking straight. I came home, plopped down on the couch, and watched tv for a while. After I went on my computer and checked my email. Then I watched two movies in a row. I only realized that it was Tech Turnoff week after I used technology. When I was on my computer, I didn’t only check my email for the fun of it. I also wanted to see if Mrs. Feick had emailed me back, but she hadn’t. The fact that without thinking I immediately went to technology shows how I’m so used to using technology everyday. It’s kind of scary how obsessed people are with technology.

Day 6

Saturday I went on the computer, only because I needed to see if Mrs. Feick emailed me back. I have a social studies research paper due monday and I sent my conclusion, third paragraph, and bibliography to her so she could edit it. It was really important that I checked my email for that purpose. Some technology just can’t be avoided, which shows something about our society. Technology is virtually everywhere we go; we really can’t avoid technology, no matter how hard we try. There will always be some form of technology following us, like the flashing advertisments in Times Square, or the small tv screens in taxi cabs, or even when your parent is watching tv in another room. I really missed checking my email, and I’m glad today was the last day of Tech-Turnoff, only because it’s been so tempting to use technology all week, and I’m happy that I’ll finally be able to use it without feeling extremely guilty.

Leave a Reply

