Leave a comment

Sophie, My Turnoff Experience

Tuesday, May 29th, 2012

This morning was pretty straightforward, since I don’t usually play the computer or use my iPod early in the morning. The afternoon was a little bit trickier, though. I’ll admit I was tempted to play my iTouch since I had a new game. However, I also had a new book. And if it comes between virtual games and books, I’ll choose the book any day. I hit a little snag on my way to my orthodontist appointment. There was this big screen at the subway station that was motion censored and you could play with virtual dogs. It was supposed to get you to play outside, or maybe your dog, but I don’t really get that kind of stuff. My family was another story. My dad likes watching UFC on television. My mom just watches television. My sister threw a fit when she heard she was going to participate, and then played the computer for two hours in her room. My parents were probably watching television after I went to bed. The only technology I used was my computer for social studies, to type up my essay paragraph.

Wednesday, May 30th, 2012

Today I had little trouble. When I was researching for my social studies essay, a video ad just popped up. It made me want to watch the video, and it made me want to watch more videos, which I guess was the point of the ad. It also made me realize that I was a little bored without technology. I did my best, but I kept thinking about that one video. I think I just got a little “sucked in”. That was annoying. REALLY annoying. It’s trickier than I had expected. My family is much more prone to being “sucked in” than I am, however. My sister watched My Little Pony as soon as she had finished her homework. I don’t like My Little Pony, but it made me want to watch Chopped, which is one of the only shows I will watch. My parents watched TV and then my dad went and played his World War 2 Wii game. I think everyone’s given up. I’m doing my best, and I hope that I don’t fail.

Thursday, May 31st, 2012

Today was mainly okay. There are really no snags that I hit, and I got tired so I lay on my bed for a while, doing nothing at all. I didn’t fall asleep, though. I think the reason why I don’t use technology too much is that I’d prefer reading. I don’t spend an immense amount of time on technology, maybe one or two hours in the week; twice that many on the weekend. This makes it easier for me to deal with being “deprived” of technology. I have, so far, not lost it. My family failed– but I’ll admit I didn’t really expect them to last. It’s only the third day and already they’ve collapsed. I bet they have been doing things subconsciously I’ve got no idea how my babysitter is doing, but she promised to stick with me. I’m getting by all right, but I don’t know if I’ll fail. I really, really hope I don’t.

Friday, June 1st, 2012

Well, today was relatively easy.  I  just realized that I have so much empty space in my life now. I don’t have to stress about e-mails or how my games are doing. All the ways that people could communicate with me are gone, so I’m free to relax with a book (which, by the way, doesn’t hurt your eyes). No more checking my texts every few seconds to see if my friends responded is a nice break. This is actually fun. I just expected it to be kind of annoying. It works to my advantage, though, so I’m not complaining. Not that I would… I really don’t want to fail. I don’t think anyone does. This was, I’ll admit, harder than I thought. I didn’t really want to do it but have been getting along all right. Is everybody else doing okay? I hope that I don’t fail. Please don’t fail!

Sunday, June 3rd, 2012

Well, I suppose it was inevitable. I hate myself so much, though. It just shows that I use a lot more technology on weekends than I thought. I broke it. I broke it!! I didn’t mean to, but one thing led to another, and I was playing on my iPod. Arrg. Why? I was doing SO WELL. I managed to last out
Saturday by just kind of sitting there. I had jiu jitsu and whatnot, so it was tricky but I managed to avoid the majority of all the snags. Well, Saturday wasn’t too bad…. but Sunday was when it really  hit. And I was almost to the end of the day, too. So close, yet so far. The rest of my family failed. They failed long before I did. So did my babysitter. She promised, but she has been reading her Nook. This day is mainly yelling at myself. I am mad, though. Stupid me. Stupid, stupid, stupid me. Why, why, why, WHY?!?! …Okay, I have finished now. I will now stop screaming at myself.

Leave a Reply

