Leave a comment

Nina, My Technology Turnoff Experience

5/29/2012 Tuesday

Today is the first day of the tech-turn off week. I don’t think that it is much of challenge to use only necessary technology. I barely get any free time during the week, so today isn’t that hard. At first I was tempted to look at my e-mail account. Then, I wanted to listen to Pandora radio, but I resisted my temptations by reading a book. I read Sense and Sensibility. I read 13 chapters and I really like it. To think, that, that was a book I wouldn’t even consider reading at first glance. It was really a shock for me. I’m learning that with all the media, and electronics we use, we don’t realize that there are interesting things out there. I also learned that I’m more of a Romance novel type. It is a bit nerdy but at least I know what I like. I also learned that I’m really big on music, I mean, it’s a part of me. It really was an interesting experience resisting the urge of using my iPod. I didn’t encounter any technology I couldn’t avoid, that is a good sign. I hope I can keep up the good work.

5/30/2012 Wednesday

Today I find it a bit harder to turn off all technology. I feel incomplete somehow. Like a part of me has been ripped off. It is a bit harder to resist the temptations. Everything around me screams technology. I almost turned on my iPod to listen to music. Today the tech turn off was harder than yesterday. Instead of using technology I finished my Chineses homework, learned how to play four songs on the piano, and read some more of Sense and Sensibility. Some of the people I know, say they don’t really care about the tech turn-off. They don’t think it is important, and so basically they aren’t doing it. This affects me because if they don’t do it, why should I? It is a bit frustrating for me because I try so hard to resist technology, but then people around me aren’t. I learned that technology is my weakness, and that it is like a part of me (a bit like my internal organs). I realize that I get so distracted with technology, and I managed to work efficiently without any distractions. The only technology I couldn’t avoid was my cellphone, I had to use it to tell my mom where I was. Otherwise I was okay. If today was a challenge I fear what might come of tomorrow.

5/31/2012 Thursday

Today was TERRIBLE. I had no homework, because I finished all my extra homework yesterday, and I had nothing to do. I tried reading a book, but I soon lost my interest. I cleaned my drawers to keep myself busy, and that only lasted for about 10 minutes. And, my sister’s friend was at my house using the computer the iPads and I was really tempted to use one of those electronics. My friends wanted me to check my e-mail, because they sent a bunch to me, and I wasn’t able to check any of them because of the tech turn-off. It was a really hard day for me. I hope tomorrow won’t be as much of a struggle as today. I can’t stop wishing for the tech turn-off to be over. Friday is a day I’m dreading the most. Why? Because it is the end of the school week, and that’s the time where I use most of my technology. I don’t know how much longer I can keep up my streak of no technology, I’m already starting to crack. The funny thing is that on Tuesday I thought the tech turn off was going to be easy. Now, I’m losing it. If there’s anything I learned it is that I use a lot more technology than I thought. Three more days and this is over, just three more days.

6/1/2012 Friday

Oh my gosh, help! Today of all days the tech turn-off is the hardest. I can’t pass time, and I realize that I keep glancing at my iPod every other minute. I would play board games with my sister, but she gets on my nerves, and I don’t feel like it. Both my parents are working on the computer, and my grandma isn’t here so I can’t entertain myself by listening to my never ending tales of her childhood. None of my family is doing the tech turn-off do I have ZERO motivation. When will the tech turn-off end? Oh right, Sunday. Which means only two more days, and I can use my technology. It’s almost over, thank God. Wow! I sound so desperate, almost like I’m dying. I finished reading Sense and Sensibility, and I don’t have any other books to read. It’s really hard for me to avoid the temptations of technology. I mean, it’s the end of school, tomorrow is officially the weekend, and today I’m just supposed to kick back and relax. That’s what Fridays are for. Anyway, this all ends on Sunday, so I’ll try to keep it together.

6/3/2012 Sunday
This is it. The last day of the technology turn-off. I’ve survived a whole week of no technology. I feel extremely, immensely, surprisingly, ecstatically proud of myself right now. The past week was a challenge, but in the end, I came through. Overall, I realize that technology possess you, in a creepy way. I mean, I found out that I couldn’t go two seconds without thinking about my iPod, my computer, or my music. I find it funny and sad how much technology is a part of me. On the third day of the technology turn-off, I started losing it. I became a nervous wreck, and I couldn’t stop wishing the end of it. Now, I feel a bit embarrassed and ashamed about my reactions to the technology turn-off. I am really glad this is over, and I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy. I hope I don’t have to do something like this ever again. Finally the technology turn-off is over!!!

Leave a Reply

