Leave a comment

Justin, My Turnoff Experience

Reflection #1 5/29/12

I felt like I had no link to the world.  I felt this way because I couldn’t watch television to know what was happening, check email, or check sport scores online or on television.

The experience was very difficult because I have some motivation in my body that makes me use tech.  I am also surrounded by it but am not using it.

I was very tempted when my friends on my baseball team took out their smart phones and started to play games and text.  I was also tempted when I was in my living room with four different devices pretty much at my fingertips and couldn’t watch or touch them.

My baseball team is reacting that they can’t believe I have to do this.  It makes me jealous and frustrated.

I learned that I feed off technology and am annoyed when I don’t use it.  I also use it when I am bored.

At Chirping Chicken the television was on; I could not avoid it but I did not really watch it.

Reflection #2  5/30/12

I feel extremely bored.  I feel this way because I have nothing to do.

Today was really difficult because I’m just sitting and staring into space. My book got really boring so I did not want to read it.  I was tempted when I saw my iPhone right next to me.  I read my book instead of using technology.  I also played a card game with my mom.  I just sat there and did nothing too.

People are reacting and saying that I shouldn’t do this.  This makes me feel like I should break the turnoff.  I’m learning that I get really frustrated when I don’t use technology.  I’ve noticed that I rely on technology when I don’t know what to do.  I encountered the taxi television.  I checked my email because it was just routine and I needed to do so.

Reflection #3 5/31/12

I feel okay.  I feel this way because I had no time to use technology.  Instead, I played baseball and read a good book.  Today was relatively easy.  It was easy because I had no time to use technology.  I was tempted when I had my iPhone right in my hand.  I read my book, played baseball, and went to the park instead of using technology.  I also played solitaire.

People are surprised that a person like me would not use technology for a week.  Also they can’t believe it and that they could not do it.  This makes me feel bad.  I’m learning that some days I need technology and some I don’t.  When I’m busy, I don’t miss technology.

I encountered the taxi driver’s radio.  I also encountered a television at Lenny’s.

Reflection #4 6/1/12

I feel alright because I had baseball and then went to a baseball game.  Today was easy because I watched the game.  I had no time to use electronics.  I played baseball and watched a game instead of using technology. I was tempted when I had my iPhone right next to me.

People are surprised that I cannot use technology.  I’m learning that sometimes I need technology but when I’m busy, I do not need it.

I encountered the huge scoreboard.  I also encountered the taxi television.  I encountered the advertising screens at the ballpark.


Reflection #5 6/3/12

I feel terrible this weekend.  I feel this way because I am unable to fill my free time.  Today was hard because I had a ton of free time.  I finished my homework early and my book got really boring.  I played baseball instead of using technology.  I also read my book instead of using technology.

Between ball games I was tempted when my friends pulled out their smart phones and started texting and gaming.  People are surprised that I am not using technology.  I feel the urge to interact with technology because this.I’m learning I use technology in my free time.  I also am learning I need tech.

I did not encounter any tech I could not avoid.

Leave a Reply

