Leave a comment

Brennan Tech Turnoff Reflections

Brennan Szabo

Tech Reflection Number 1

5-29-12

I have completed the first day of “technology turnoff.” It was easier than I had expected, but came with three un-expected and unpleasant realizations, which will pain me throughout the “technology turnoff.”

The first realization was that the turnoff went until Sunday. I had previously thought that it had gone until Friday. I will not be able to entertain myself when I get bored on my computer, television, phone, or even radio. I consider myself who, overall, does a good job of balancing their use of technology with reading writing, and other activities. This, however, does not mean that I do not use technology to entertain myself when I am very bored, and, because of a slight lag in homework, feel the need to use technology such as the television or computer. I am shocked that the school thinks that they have the right to ban what we do to entertain ourselves, especially over the weekend.

I am also saddened that I will not be able to watch the only few important hockey games of the season, the finals. This is made even worse by the fact that they are some of the only hockey games that I can watch, seeing as they are not on cable television.

The final privilege taken away by the technology turnoff is the radio. It may surprise some, but I probably listen to the radio more that I watch television, play on mu iPod touch, and play on the computer combined. The radio is my biggest connection to the outside world, and its loss will be upsetting.

Tech Turnoff Reflection 2

5-30-12

It is day two of the tech turnoff. One of the biggest observations that I have made is that I feel as if I can get stuff done faster. With my phone off, I never get texts that can distract me from whatever I am doing. Without those distractions, I can get stuff done much quicker. My mind also seems strangely blank, but in a good way. It is just me and my brain. I also feel a bit isolated especially because I cannot listen to the radio, the place where I get the most news from.

Another big observation that I have made is that I am more relaxed. I sleep longer, feel better, and overall seem to be in better mental shape, something I did not feel as much when I used technology.

I could not avoid technology when I used my computer for homework. I also ran into a point where I needed to look up something that was not in the dictionary, so I used my iPod touch.

I will also note that it is very tempting to use technology every time I see someone reach for their phone. I think that a huge part of our use of technology is an impulse, especially when we see others using it. Bored = technology.

Tech Turnoff Reflection 3

6-1-12

With the third day of the technology turnoff drawing to a close, I find myself, pencil in hand, sitting down to write another reflection.  Today, I felt more isolation. Even more than I have felt the past two days. I could not watch or listen to the highlights of last night’s hockey game, nor could I discover the Red Sox score. Besides those few negatives, however, the other changes have been quite positive. I feel alone with my brain, left to my personal thoughts and revelations. I feel as if I can think more clearly and straight-forward. I can also get a lot more done.

Alas, however, technology was un-avoidable. I have been working on a film for an afterschool, and the first screening was today. I had no choice but to watch.

Other people are reacting quite negatively to the idea of the technology turnoff, but I believe that it is an interesting point of view, just as Ray Bradbury saw the world back when he wrote Fahrenheit 451.

I also faced many distractions. The sports bar that I live near has at least 20 televisions, so every time I walk past, I am extremely tempted to sneak even a glance at the sports being shown. On this same note, however, I count myself very lucky. I do not have cable television, nor do I have an e-mail account, so it will be much easier to ignore technology. Instead of using technology, I read the newspaper.

Tech Turnoff Reflection Four

6-2-12

The technology turnoff is drawing to a close, and I can’t say I will be  gald to see it go. I have felt alone, isolated, and sometimes distressed throughout the entire experience. It was an easy day today though. I went through my normal routine, with almost no time left over in which I had nothing to do. Because of this, I was not truly tempted at all to use technology.

Other people have been reacting terribly. I think that I can safely say that there are very few others, maybe none at all, are participating in a full turnoff of technology. They are using the “I slipped up” excuse as a reason to blatantly violate the set of regulations governing out use of technology, informal or formal. This is affecting me a lot. Every time someone mentions last night’s sports game, I long to hear about it on the radio and watch the highlights on the television.

Instead of using technology, I have been reading a lot. I have read two whole books, multiple editions of the newspaper, and have been doing crossword puzzles daily. Other than that, I have played sports.

Tech Turnoff Five

6-3-12

Finally, the technology turnoff is drawing to a close. On Monday, I will, grinning from ear to ear, turn on the radio and let the glorious news of the sports world flow into my brain.

During the week, I felt isolated, alone, and discouraged. I truly believe that for those who have come to use it frequently, technology can invoke powerful emotions in human beings, and without technology, they can feel distraught. Technology has wedged itself so firmly into our lives, that it can ruin us or build us in one moment.

I will admit it, I slipped up. I went to a friend’s house over the weekend, and watched a movie. Other than that, however, I did not slip up much at all, and I am proud of that.

I was tempted at times, however. I longed to turn on the radio every day when I woke up, wanting to be informed. I wished I could play on my iPod touch on the weekends. I was teased by the Stanley Cup Playoffs, but did not turn it on.

I have learned a lot about my technology use. I have discovered that I actually use less than I thought, but it is a larger part or my day than I ever would have realized. Instead of using technology, I read and played games.

Finally, the technology turnoff is drawing to a close. On Monday, I will, grinning from ear to ear, turn on the radio and let the glorious news of the sports world flow into my brain.

During the week, I felt isolated, alone, and discouraged. I truly believe that for those who have come to use it frequently, technology can invoke powerful emotions in human beings, and without technology, they can feel distraught. Technology has wedged itself so firmly into our lives, that it can ruin us or build us in one moment.

I will admit it, I slipped up. I went to a friend’s house over the weekend, and watched a movie. Other than that, however, I did not slip up much at all, and I am proud of that.

I was tempted at times, however. I longed to turn on the radio every day when I woke up, wanting to be informed. I wished I could play on my iPod touch on the weekends. I was teased by the Stanley Cup Playoffs, but did not turn it on.

I have learned a lot about my technology use. I have discovered that I actually use less than I thought, but it is a larger part or my day than I ever would have realized. Instead of using technology, I read and played games.

Leave a Reply

