Leave a comment

Jake, Tech Turn-Off Experience


Part 1

May 29, 2012

The Tech Turn-Off has been incredibly easy.  One might say, “Yeah, but it’s only the first day,” but I think I could keep going for a few more weeks.  As of today, I only used technology for schoolwork.  In fact, last week I only used tech for school.  It’s like I had a Tech Turn-Off last week!

I think I pretty much thought that this was going to happen.  When I first heard of the Tech Turn-Off, my first thought wasn’t “Oh no!  How am I going to watch the NBA finals!”  My first thought was  “Oh no!  How am I going to do my Social Studies obituary!”  So, after I found out that we could use technology for school-related purposes, I figured out that the Tech Turn-Off wouldn’t even be that different from what I usually do.

Once I had realized that, I realized that the Tech Turn-Off would be barely visible to me, other than the fact that we would be discussing it in ELA.  My prediction for the Tech Turn-Off is coming out to be true.

Part 2

May 30, 2012

So far, The Tech Turn-Off has been exactly the same as it had been yesterday: easy.  Unlike some kids, I do not Facebook.  I do not text.  I do not watch sports on TV.  In that way, the Tech Turn-Off becomes much easier.

If I did use the previously mentioned devices frequently, the Tech Turn-Off would be a lot harder.  Currently, I have to give up barely anything, whereas some of my peers spend their time texting, tweeting, and tumblring.  The three “T”s of tech.  If I did use those things, the Tech Turn-Off would be a change from my ordinary life, but I don’t, and it isn’t.

Part 3

 

May 31, 2012

Throughout the TT-O (Tech Turn-Off0, I’ve noticed a lot of technology that is just … there. People on the subways with iPhones, TVs in taxis, even advertisements on the streets in the form of a television.  One might just think: is this a bit too much?

We live in a digital world.  We have digital devices.  Just about everything is digital.  Have we gone way overboard?  I say yes.  TVs and cell phone are getting too strong in our lives.  Soon, we will be like the world in Farenheit 451.  We will only live through our devices if this does not end.  It has become way too much, and it will continue if it does not all end.  Technology is taking over our lives.  Don’t let that happen.

Part 4

 

June 1, 2012

I am thinking about Ray Bradbury’s quote.  It was “I still love books. Nothing a computer can do can compare to a book. You can’t really put a book on the Internet… Books smell good. They look good. You can press it to your bosom. You can carry it in your pocket.”

I think that this is promoting a very anti-change feeling.  After all, if we had no more advances in technology, we’d still be eating raw meat, with no way to cook it.  Think of all the lives we’ve saved with computers in medics.

Computers and TVs can turn people into brain-dead zombies like Mildred Montag, but it can also provide them with experiences that would be impossible without it, like children who don’t have schools going to an online school through a computer.  Computers can be amazing, and we need to give them some credit for that.

Part 5

 

June 2 and 3, 2012

As I look back, I think tech can be useful.  We should continue making progress in new types of technology, but not into becoming vegetables sitting in front of “Jersey Shore.”  I also believe that Bradbury’s prediction in Fahrenheit 451 won’t come true.  In fact, as long as books are allowed everywhere, that will never happen.  It will take the human race a long time to turn into a race of Mildred Montags.

The title of Fahrenheit 451 signifies the temperature at which paper burns. Let us hope that such information will never be used in excess.

Leave a Reply

