Leave a comment

Zoe, My Turn-Off Experience

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

I felt very clean because I wasn’t distracting myself from doing homework by chatting online or playing on the computer.
The experience was pretty easy because I have homework that takes a while, piano scales to practice, and a new library book.  

When I was doing social studies homework, I was tempted to go watch TV with my sister but I pulled myself away.

Instead of using technology I drew, wrote, did homework, and played the piano.  This was pretty hard though, because it took some willpower to continue doing those things.  Since I didn’t distract myself with technology when I was doing homework, I got it done a lot faster leaving more free time.  In that free time I was tempted to use technology.

I realized that when I use technology I slow myself down and that I waste more time without realizing it.  I also noticed that it’s hard to pull away from technology once you start using it.

Technology I couldn’t was texting “school” and “home” when I arrived at those locations to my parents.  If I didn’t text “school” my parents would call the school and someone would have to come down and look for me.  If I didn’t ext “home” My parents would call me disturbing my classes or homework.  Calling both parents would take too long especially if I’m running late to school.  Sometimes I have to go to school by myself because my dad has an early meeting and a call would disturb him.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

I feel very bored today.  Without technology there’s nothing for me to do when I’m finished with my duties (homework, piano, chess, etc.) and nothing else appeals to me.

I got the little homework I had finished quickly, leaving a lot more free time.  Eventually, I got so bored and searched up songs on youtube and wrote the lyrics down.  I didn’t think it was such a big deal because everyone could hear the music and I was writing, thinking, and being social with my sister.

Instead of using more technology I did homework, practiced piano, and wrote and drew in my notebook.

When I came home my sister was watching TV and I had to avoid the living room so I wouldn’t get sucked in.

I learned that sometimes I use technology when I shouldn’t like when I’m doing homework.  It slows me down and it’s hard to stop once I start.  Some technology I couldn’t avoid was the thing in the subway that tells what trains are coming and when.  I always consult it when I go to the train station.  I don’t think it matters much because I only glance at it for a couple seconds and I’m not blocking everything else out when I use it.

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Today I feel kind of guilty.  I spent quite a bit of time watching videos of pink fluffy unicorns dancing on a rainbow and cool things made from dominoes with my sister.

The experience was very difficult because there wasn’t much homework I could do to distract me.  Also, on Thursdays I don’t have any classes to keep me busy.

Some distractions and temptations I experienced occurred when I was using the computer to do social studies homework.  I wanted to go off and play on it.

Everyone didn’t use a lot of technology around me so there are less distractions and temptations which makes my tech turn-off week experience much easier.

I learned that I use technology out of curiosity a lot.  My sister told me about the pink fluffy unicorn video so as a result I really wanted to watch it.

In the morning my mom turns on the radio to listen to the news.  I don’t think that this was such a big deal because I wasn’t zoning out to listen and everyone else could hear it.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Today I feel kind of guilty.  I spent quite a bit of time watching videos of pink fluffy unicorns dancing on a rainbow and cool things made from dominoes with my sister.

The experience was very difficult because there wasn’t much homework I could do to distract me.  Also, on Thursdays I don’t have any classes to keep me busy.

Some distractions and temptations I experienced occurred when I was using the computer to do social studies homework.  I wanted to go off and play on it.

Everyone didn’t use a lot of technology around me so there are less distractions and temptations which makes my tech turn-off week experience much easier.

I learned that I use technology out of curiosity a lot.  My sister told me about the pink fluffy unicorn video so as a result I really wanted to watch it.

In the morning my mom turns on the radio to listen to the news.  I don’t think that this was such a big deal because I wasn’t zoning out to listen and everyone else could hear it.

Saturday and Sunday, June 2-3, 2012

Today I feel kind of guilty.  I spent quite a bit of time watching videos of pink fluffy unicorns dancing on a rainbow and cool things made from dominoes with my sister.

The experience was very difficult because there wasn’t much homework I could do to distract me.  Also, on Thursdays I don’t have any classes to keep me busy.

Some distractions and temptations I experienced occurred when I was using the computer to do social studies homework.  I wanted to go off and play on it.

Everyone didn’t use a lot of technology around me so there are less distractions and temptations which makes my tech turn-off week experience much easier.

I learned that I use technology out of curiosity a lot.  My sister told me about the pink fluffy unicorn video so as a result I really wanted to watch it.  It also takes some willpower to pull away from technology.

Technology I couldn’t avoid was in the morning when my mom turns on the radio to listen to the news.  This helps save time because my parents can catch up on news and get ready for work.  I don’t think that this was such a big deal because I wasn’t zoning out to listen and everyone else could hear it.

Leave a Reply

