Leave a comment

Lev, My Tech Turn-Off Experience

Day 1, May 29

I haven’t used much technology so far; I didn’t give in to the siren-song of my iPhone, nor have I succumbed to the beauties of Wikipedia, forever calling me, “edit… edit our poorly-written articles…! Add a hyperlink to the article on the Kuiper Belt!” I spent a total of 32 minutes doing homework on my computer; sadly, none of those were spent using my E-mail.

I haven’t felt that annoyed or frustrated yet; I have a lot of good books at home. I also get homework done a lot faster, leaving even more spare time. Today I did something I have only ever done twice in my life before: I took a walk! Just a walk! No phone, no one else, just me and the Village. It was… well, saying it was relaxing would be a lie. IT WAS SO BORING! The vices of technology were all around, even in my local Dunkin’ Donuts, where they had a screen displaying snippets of articles from the New York Times. I fear I won’t last much longer.

Even at home, there was technology all around me. iPhones, iPads, the radio, computers and a TV (My family is very technologically oriented)! My brother watching the worst of all kiddy shows, BoohBah! My mom engaging in a phone conference, my dad organizing tasks on Omnifocus and taking notes in EverNote. I felt like I was going to explode. Eventually, I just went into my room. Closed the door and took out a very long, engaging book. It didn’t help at all.

I don’t think I will last much longer. I can try to hold out for a little longer, but it won’t be for that long. Wish me luck.

Day 2, May 30

Mostly the same prognosis as yesterday; 40 minutes on the computer, 4 hours with a good book, brain about to explode. Today, however, I had a much easier time; my brother went to sleep early today, so no BoohBah and no Little Einsteins and no Spider-Man ending credits. I have been very good at avoiding the devices that separate humans and slugs, but I have had a lot of time to think and have come to a conclusion about this whole tech-free week; I hate it. Hate hate hate hate hate hate HATE IT. My whole life revolves around technology, and not being able to have it is tearing my brain into little tiny pieces and then burning them until they are mere specks of blackened dust. Why do we even have to do this, anyway? This isn’t going to make me use technology less, or even make me care about how much time I spend on my computer. It’s also kind of ironic that we are typing these reflections in class; we’re saying how technology shouldn’t be used so often and yet we’re using technology to write this. It’s actually kind of pathetic.

My family seems to be okay with recognizing the “tech turn-off.” They haven’t been trying to get me to use technology, and my mom has even bugged me about using my computer so much. She said this because I spent a total of one hour on my computer doing “homework.” I actually spent 30 minutes on digital homework and another 30 minutes on online video games. My first slip-up. The online gaming world was calling to me. My energy had just been refreshed in monster’s den chronicles! I had to post a comment here, rate a game there, edit my profile until it was perfect. I tried hard, but I failed. Oh well. I care so much. No, really. I really enjoy giving up my computer and my video games that help me keep in contact with my friends overseas. Sigh.

Day 3, May 31

Today was my second slip-up: online gaming, again. Only for half an hour, though. Still, this tech-thing is taking a toll on me. I have bags under my eyes, I’m half asleep the whole day… I need my technology. My computer, my iPhone, my Wii. My outside-of-school friends are all still using their technology, still enjoying their freedom. I, however, am still shackled by the “tech turn-off (I hate it so),” I am still forced to push away my one true joy in this world. Sigh.

I’m so jealous of everyone with some bit of electronic relief… why do I have to do this? I really don’t have to do this. Okay. Fine. Time for video games. Bye now.

I spent two hours on video games. It was relaxing. Well, time for bed. Good night.

Day 4, June 1

I didn’t use any technology at all today. Well, except for this computer for 30 minutes. I was occupied with a friend, so I had no time for technology. It was a relief, a weight off my shoulders. I didn’t have to worry about anything today; I could just relax and throw a ball around. And read. Did I mention how much I read these days?

I managed to resist the call of video games, but Louis’ stupid kiddy TV shows are driving me insane. They were bad enough before, but now… Oy. Oy. Oy. Oy. It’s Awful. My brain feels like it wants to explode. I think it actually did, a long time ago. But this isn’t about me. Oh wait, it is. Well, this isn’t about my non-tech-life. Hah. Take that… Microsoft Word… 2012… MacBook 2009… stuff… yeah, I have no idea what to say for this entry. I can’t think of anything. Ah, well. I guess I’ll just add some more for future entries. Goodbye.

Weekend, June 2-3

By Lev Bernstein

I don’t have anything to say right now. I’ve exhausted all my filler, and my weekend was kind of abnormal. I slept in on June 2, and then hurled my guts out on June 3 and June 4. It’s hard to play video games while vomiting and sleeping. Well, I’m just happy to be done with all this. Because I really have nothing to report, being sick and all, I guess this is the end of this horrid experience. Ah, well. Goodbye.

Leave a Reply

