Leave a comment

Charlotte, My Turnoff Experience

Day 1: 5/29
With the tech turn-off in effect, it made me feel eager to use technology because I am so used to it being part of my routine making it hard now that it is off.  Today the experience was easy only because I had a baseball game and I wasn’t just sitting around with nothing to do.  When my brother was watching a baseball game on tv, I was tempted to look but was able to restrain myself.  I was also tempted to go on my email when I was using the computer (for homework, of course).  Instead of using technology, I did homework, read, and did various puzzles.  Since other people are not using technology as well, it made me not have an urge as much to know that other people aren’t using technology and enjoying it too.  I am really learning that I use technology all the time mostly because I am bored, so it is better for me to be occupied, and I use it without even realizing it; I’ll absentmindedly walk over to my iPod touch and start listening to music.  However, there was some technology that i couldn’t avoid.  for example, I was at chirping chicken and there was a tv, or when eating dinner and the was a baseball game on in the same room, or when I had to print out homework from the computer which was mandatory to use the computer.  Overall, this is a challenging experience but I am learning a lot about technology, people, and myself.Day 2: 5/30

The second day of the tech turn-off made me have an urge to use technology because I had not much else to do but I was able to prevent myself from doing so.  The experience was a little harder than yesterday because my after school activity didn’t last as long leaving more available time to use technology.  I was tempted to use technology when the tv was on and when my brother was using his iPod but managed not to do so.  Instead of using technology, I took a longer time to do my homework so I’d have less free time, I read, and did puzzles.  My classmates aren’t using technology as well so I don’t feel the need to chat or email with them but my brothers are so it makes me envious of their usages.  I am learning that I have an instinct to use technology at some times but at other times I would rather be doing other things.  There was technology that I couldn’t avoid.  When eating dinner the tv was on and I couldn’t leave the room, I needed to use the computer for homework, and I needed to use my phone to contact my mom when traveling by myself.  All in all, this is a challenging yet interesting experience that is teaching me a great deal.Day 3: 5/31

Today I felt fine with the tech turn-off in effect because I was occupied for most of the day so I felt no need whatsoever to use technology.  I was very easy today because I had a baseball game and homework which took almost the whole afternoon so I didn’t feel the urge to use technology.  I was tempted to use technology when people were playing on their iPods at the track meet and besides a few glimpses, I didn’t watch.  Instead of using technology, I played baseball, and did my homework.  Today some people were using technology which made me want to a little, but otherwise the fact that most people weren’t made me not  care that I wasn’t too.  Throughout this experience i am learning that technology is kind of the go to thing in this day and age and whenever I am unoccupied I turn to technology as a source of entertainment but with this experience I will try to limit my unnecessary use in the future.  There was some technology that I couldn’t avoid such as when on the train and the time and stop was displayed electronically and when I needed to use my phone to call a friend.  In the end though, I am learning to limit unnecessary uses and I’m realizing that technology is overused but hopefully it will change.Day 4: 6/1

Today is Friday and although I had something to do after school, I was still tempted to use technology when I got home because not since it is technically the weekend and I usually use technology at this time.  The experience today was so-so.  It was fine until about 7:00 when I got home, when I started to feel tempted because I didn’t have to do homework yet and I wanted to relax and use technology.  I was really tempted to use technology today especially because when my siblings were, because like I said before, it is now the weekend.  Instead of using technology, I played baseball, did only some homework, and just relaxed.  Some people aren’t using technology which doesn’t tempt me as much, but others are making me jealous.  I am learning that the times I tend to use technology the most are a) when I’m unoccupied or b) when I can just relax and I don’t have school the next day.  There was technology that I couldn’t avoid.  I used the computer to do my homework, I used my iPod to check a few things, and at times the tv was just on and I couldn’t avoid it.  Today made me realize that the times I use technology the most are on the weekends (or Friday) when I can just sit down and relax.Day 4 and 5: 6/2 and 6/3

Over the weekend I really wanted to use technology, and there were some times that I couldn’t avoid.  I felt an urge to use technology because at times I had nothing else to do.  Over the weekend it was easy and hard at different times depending on what I was doing at the time.  Instead of using technology, I played softball, went to a friends house, went shopping, and went to a birthday party.  Some people I know are using technology which made me want to use it because I didn’t want to be the only one not using technology and at times I had to use it.  I am learning that I use technology sometimes because because it is needed but other times as something to do.  I do however, use technology less than I thought I did but that doesn’t mean that it isn’t a lot.  Throughout the weekend I encountered technology that I couldn’t avoid.  When I was out a friend’s house we watched a movie and I couldn’t leave the room.  Also, I needed use the computer for both homework and to check the location of a place.  Lastly, I went o a party and we couldn’t not go because technology was involved.  Throughout this week, I learned a lot, challenged myself, and will definitely remember this experience.
Leave a Reply

