Leave a comment

Alex G, My Turnoff Experience

Day 1: Today was the first day of the Tech Turn Off. I tried very hard not to use technology but it is pretty tough. It isn’t really possible to not use technology if you get into a cab and TaxiTV comes on with no control. I turned it off as soon as I could, but that is still five minutes of technology that I couldn’t help. Also, this morning when I woke up, my dad was watching tennis right in front of where I was eating breakfast, and he really likes watching tennis so it would be very rude to tell him to turn it off. Right there is another fifteen minutes of technology.
During the Turn Off so far, I’ve noticed more things around me that I could do instead of watching TV or going on the computer. I had an AMS Tennis match today, which helped me take my mind off technology for a couple of hours. I tried really hard today not to use technology, and I hope I can keep it up for the rest of the week.

Day 2: Today was the second day of the Tech Turn Off, and it went relatively well. The only technology I used was was for homework, and briefly on the bus. During first period, we had an assignment to define twelve words, and since there were no dictionaries available to me, I had to use the laptops. But since it was the Tech Turn Off, I shut it down and put it away immediately after I was done.
Today went a lot like yesterday. The only technology I used wasn’t really controllable. Today I realized that sports really helps. When I was playing basketball with my friend, I completely forgot all about any form of technology. I think I am getting a little more used to no technology as the days go by, and I will continue getting more used to it as the week goes by.

Day 3: Today was the third day of the Tech Turn Off. It went pretty much like all of the other days so far. The only difference today was that I had to finish some social studies homework, so I had to use thirty minutes on my computer to do the homework What really helped was that I turned off all media sites, so I could fully concentrate on my work with no distractions. That was the only technology I used today.
So far in the week, I have only used technology when I had to, or could not control it. Sports have really helped and it did again tonight. I played football with my dad, and it was fun and took my mind off the media world. So far I’m doing well in the Tech Turn Off, and I hope to keep it up throughout the rest of the week.

Day 4: Today was the fourth day of the Tech Turn Off. It went pretty smooth, and I didn’t use much technology. The only technology I used was when I was informed that the AMS Tennis match was cancelled, and I had to call my dad to tell him not to pick me up from the match. Other than that three minute phone call, I had a clean slate today.
I think that so far this week, I have learned a couple of things. First, I learned that sports can really take your mind off technology. Second, I learned that even though technology can be easier, sometimes the harder way to do things can be more of an adventure. Third, I’ve learned that sometimes technology can get boring, and trying new, different things can be fun. All of these things I’ve learned this week will for sure help me with life, and I hope I learn more over the weekend.

Weekend: Today was the final day of the Tech Turn Off, and it went pretty well, as did yesterday. I limited my tech usage by a lot, and it really didn’t kill me. The only tech I used this weekend was watching a little bit of tennis and a bit of the Stanley Cup Finals, which my dad had turned on, so there wasn’t much I could do to stop it.

I was tempted to watch more of my favorite sports, but I tried my hardest not to, and it paid off because I did many more fun things and had more quality time with my family and friends. Even though the week was a great success, I’m glad it’s over because I really want to watch more of the Hockey Finals and the NBA Playoffs. All in all, the week was a great experience.

Leave a Reply

